Powers Diagram

Look over the constitutional powers and responsibilities that are divided, shared between, and prohibited by the U.S. federal and state governments.

Federal Government	Both Federal and States	State Governments
These powers are delegated to the national government in Article I, Section 8, Clauses 1-17 Enumerated Powers	 Levy and collect taxes Borrow money Make and enforce laws Establish courts Charter banks and corporations Take property for public purpose with just compensation (eminent domain) 	The 10th Amendment grants the state governments "the powers not delegated to [the national government]nor prohibited by" the Constitution Reserved Powers Regulate intrastate commerce Conduct elections Provide for public health, safety, welfare, and morals Establish local governments Maintain militia (National Guard) Ratify amendments to the Constitution

Federal Government	Both Federal and States	State Governments
Powers Denied to the Federal Government	Powers Denied to Both the National and State Governments	Powers Denied to the State Governments
 Tax state exports Change state boundaries Violate the Bill of Rights 	 Violate the U.S. Constitution; examples of violations include: Issue bills of attainder Pass ex post facto laws Levy export taxes Deny the writ of habeas corpus Grant titles of nobility 	 Tax imports and exports Tax the federal government Coin money Enter into treaties Impair obligation of contracts Abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens or deny due process and equal protection of the laws